Jessica

Click to view map
When:
July 22, 2017 @ 8:00 pm – August 6, 2017 @ 9:30 pm America/New York Timezone
2017-07-22T20:00:00-04:00
2017-08-06T21:30:00-04:00
Where:
IRT Theater
154 Christopher St
New York, NY 10014
USA
Cost:
$18
Contact:
Sanguine Theatre Company

Sanguine Theatre Company presents the World Premiere of

Patrick Vermillion’s

JESSICA

July 22 – August 6

Sanguine Theatre Company will present the World Premiere of Patrick Vermillion’s JESSICA, directed by Emily Jackson at IRT Theater (154 Christopher Street, between Greenwich and Washington, 10014), July 22-August 6 with performances on Saturday, July 22 at 8pm, Sunday, July 23 at 7pm, Tuesday, July 25 at 8pm, Wednesday, July 26 at 8pm, Thursday, July 27 at 8pm, Friday, July 28 at 8pm, Saturday, July 29 at 8pm, Sunday, July 30 at 3pm, Tuesday, August 1 at 8pm, Wednesday, August 2 at 8pm, Thursday, August 3 at 8pm, Friday, August 4 at 8pm, Saturday, August 5 at 8pm, and Sunday, August 6 at 3pm. Tickets ($18) are available online at www.brownpapertickets.com/event/2954473 or by calling 1-800-838-3006. The performance will run approximately 90 minutes, with no intermission.

In 2013, Jessica vanished. Now, her closest friends are reconstructing her with cutting-edge technology to try and track her down. They prime the android with memories from Jessica’s past, but it’s clear that their stories don’t add up. As Jessica’s friends fight for ownership over an artificial Jessica, the android listens, learns, and plays along. Suddenly, the line between robot and real life is very, very thin.

Written by a playwright who “daylights” as a software engineer, Jessica dissolves the metallic glamour of traditional science fiction and delivers a jarring encounter with artificial intelligence.

Jessica won Sanguine Theatre Company’s 2017 Project Playwright Festival. The play was chosen from hundreds of submissions to receive its world premiere as part of Sanguine’s 2017 season.

By |2017-07-16T18:41:30+00:00July 16th, 2017|Comments Off on Jessica