VERMEER, REMBRANDT, AND HALS MASTERPIECES OF DUTCH PAINTING FROM THE MAURITSHUIS
October 22, 2013, through January 19, 2014
This fall and winter, The Frick Collection will be the final venue of an American tour of paintings from the Royal Picture Gallery Mauritshuis, The Hague. Vermeer, Rembrandt, and Hals: Masterpieces of Dutch Painting from the Mauritshuis will be on view in New York from October 22, 2013, through January 19, 2014. The prestigious Dutch museum has not lent a large body of works in nearly thirty years, and the fifteen paintings selected for the Frick’s presentation are among the most important in the Mauritshuis’s holdings. They represent the remarkable achievements of northern artists in the seventeenth century and complement the Frick’s strengths in Dutch portraits, landscapes, and genre paintings. Johannes Vermeer’s Girl with a Pearl Earring―which has not been shown in New York since 1984―will have pride of place as the sole picture in the museum’s Oval Room. Paintings by Frans Hals, Pieter Claesz, Rembrandt, Gerard ter Borch, Carel Fabritius, Jan Steen, Jacob van Ruisdael, Nicolaes Maes, and Adriaen Coorte will be displayed in the adjacent East Gallery. Additionally, Transforming Still Life Painting (2012) by contemporary British artists Rob and Nick Carter will be shown in the Frick’s Multimedia Room. This digital work, also on loan from the Mauritshuis, will offer visitors an opportunity to consider the enduring influence that Dutch Old Masters continue to have on artists today. The Frick’s three canvases by Vermeer will be presented together in a special installation in the adjacent West Gallery, and the exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue, a series of public programs, and select free evening hours.
The paintings to be presented at The Frick Collection were chosen by Colin B. Bailey, former Deputy Director and Peter Jay Sharp Chief Curator at the Frick, in consultation with the Mauritshuis. Vermeer, Rembrandt, and Hals: Masterpieces of Dutch Painting from the Mauritshuis is organized by Margaret Iacono, Assistant Curator at the Frick. Major Funding for the New York exhibition is provided by The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation, Assael Inc.,
John and Constance Birkelund, and Fiduciary Trust Company International. Additional support is generously provided by Margot and Jerry Bogert, Michael and Jane Horvitz, Walter and Vera Eberstadt, Agnes Gund, Seymour R. Askin, Jean-Marie and Elizabeth Eveillard, Barbara Fleischman, the Netherland-America Foundation, and an anonymous gift in memory of Melvin R. Seiden. The exhibition is also supported by an indemnity from the Federal Council on the Arts and the Humanities.
ABOUT THE ROYAL PICTURE GALLERY MAURITSHUIS AND THE INTERNATIONAL TOUR
The Mauritshuis’s legendary collection contains more than 800 paintings, the majority of which were created during the seventeenth century in the northern and southern Netherlands. Its core comes from the collection of Stadholder Prince William V of Orange-Nassau, who assembled an outstanding group of pictures in addition to inheriting a trove of
masterpieces from his predecessors. This magnificent legacy was given to the Dutch nation in 1816 by his son, William I. The Mauritshuis’s collection is housed in the city palace of Johan Maurits, Count of Nassau-Siegen. The majestic building— built between 1633 and 1644 and a breathtaking example of Dutch classicist architecture—is undergoing an expansion and refurbishment and is expected to reopen in mid-2014. The project has occasioned an
ambitious international tour allowing foreign audiences to enjoy a selection of the Mauritshuis’s treasures. Following larger presentations in Japan at the Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum and the Kobe City Museum, and in the U.S. at the de Young/Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco and the High Museum of Art, Atlanta, the exhibition travels to the
Frick before making a final appearance in Bologna, Italy, at the Palazzo Fava (February and May 2014).
Vermeer, Rembrandt, and Hals: Masterpieces of Dutch Painting from the Mauritshuis is included with paid museum admission. However, timed tickets are required, and purchasing them in advance is strongly advised. As of July, timed tickets have been available for purchase at the Admissions Desk during museum hours. They can also be ordered online at www.frick.org or by calling Telecharge at 212.239.6200 (for a small processing fee). Subject to availability during the run of the exhibition, same-day and advance timed tickets may also be obtained at the Frick. For more information about purchasing tickets, please visit the
Frick’s Web site.
As a benefit of membership, museum members will be given priority access and may view the special exhibition without pre-purchasing timed tickets. Individuals interested in becoming members can do so online, in person when visiting the Frick, or by calling the Membership Department at 212.547.0709.
CHILDREN UNDER TEN ARE NOT ADMITTED TO THE COLLECTION
General Information Phone: 212.288.0700
Web site: www.frick.org
E-mail: [email protected]
Where: 1 East 70th Street, near Fifth Avenue
Hours: open six days a week: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Tuesdays through Saturdays; 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Sundays.
Closed Mondays, New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas Day. Limited hours (11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.)
on Lincoln’s Birthday, Election Day, and Veterans Day (special hours for the run of the exhibition, specific to those galleries, will
be posted online)
Admission: $20; senior citizens $15; students $10; “pay what you wish” on Sundays from 11 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
This special exhibition is included with paid museum admission. However timed tickets are required. See notes above and the Web site regarding purchasing tickets as well as the priority entry that Members receive.