2017 Louis Auchincloss Prize Awards at the Museum of the City of New York

2017 Louis Auchincloss Prize Awards at the Museum of the City of New York

Whoopi Goldberg

On October 17, Gloria Steinem, Whoopi Goldberg, and Michiko Kakutani were awarded the 2017 Louis Auchincloss Prize Awards in a Ceremony which took place the Museum of the City of New York.

Over 200 were present at the event in which museum officials, presenters and honorees took turns at the podium.

The prize is presented to writers and artists whose work is inspired by and enhances the five boroughs of New York City. Past recipients include Tony Kushner, Wynton Marsalis, Philip Glass, Stephen Sondheim, Elliot Erwitt, Pete Hamill, Sheldon Harnick, Ada Louise Huxtable, and Louis Auchincloss.

Gloria Steinem

Writer, journalist, and feminist activist Gloria Steinem has used her formidable writing talent in books, essays, and speeches, to help spark a revolution in thinking about women and inspire new generations of women and men. Author, comedian, actor, and producer Whoopi Goldberg employs humor to speak the truth, becoming one of those rare individuals to earn a Grammy, Academy Award, Golden Globe, two Emmys, and a Tony. Journalist and critic Michiko Kakutani was awarded the 1998 Pulitzer Prize for her “fearless and authoritative” journalism and served as the longtime New York Times Chief Book Critic. 

Transcripts of the speeches given by the presenters as well as the honorees will be featured in a separate upcoming post.

Below are photos taken at the Cocktail and Awards Ceremony.